Where the St. Croix and the Mississippi Rivers Meet
Prescott was settled in 1840 and was described as the “mouth of the St. Croix.” It received its official name in 1851 apparently in honor of Philander Prescott, a fur trapper who built a cabin on the site where the City of Prescott now stands. He held claim on 1200 acres for soldiers from Fort Snelling, MN at the confluence of the Mississippi and St. Croix Rivers. Prescott became a center for river shipping, steamboat transportation and milling. Immigrants arrived via the steamboats and settled lands in MN and WI.