Iowa County

Iowa County derives it’s name from the powerful, and at one time, invincible tribe of Iowa Indians. When organized as a county, under the territorial government of Michigan, Iowa County aggregated within it’s jurisdiction, the present counties of Dane, Green, Grant, LaFayette and a portion of Rock. This is a rich mineral range, from which was mined 3/4 of the ore shipped from the county. Smelting furnaces are located in Linden, Highland, Mineral Point and Dodgeville.

Ask anyone who lives here what the draw is and you are bound to hear of the beauty that surrounds the communities – the rolling, tree covered hills, the rock outcroppings, the mosaics of farm fields, the quiet streams and some of the most picturesque drives to be found anywhere. Quiet drives in the country provide an escape from congested highways and the breath-taking vistas compel people back time and again.

Explore Iowa County

Iowa County Government

222 N. Iowa Street • Dodgeville, WI 53533
Phone: (608) 935-0399

North Northeast Southeast South Central West Central