Community on the Move
Before the settlers came to the Fall River area, when south-central Wisconsin was still wilderness and large areas of unsettled wild territory, two small creeks flowed together to form the Crawfish River. It was on a ridge above the Crawfish River that A. A. Brayton first built his house and store in 1845. The Village of Fall River in the 1900’s consisted of Tramburg’s Saloon, Weber’s store, the Fall River House (a hotel constructed before the Civil War) and the G. A. R. Hall and of course, the sawmill and grist mill. The Fall River House served as a gathering place the veterans of the Civil War.