TimeBlogFacebookEmailMenuSearchTwitter

Ephraim

The Village of Ephraim’s cultural and historical heritage is a blend of Moravian culture and Norwegian ethnic heritage. Founded as a Moravian religious community in 1853 by the Reverend Andreas Iverson, many of the historic buildings – The Moravian Church (1858), the Pioneer Schoolhouse (1880), the Anderson Store (1858) and warehouse, as well as the Anderson Barn (1880) and eight homes in the Village – are more than a century old and all still in use. The city’s main festival is Fyr Bal, a Scandinavian festival held in mid-June to burn away the witches of winter. Bonfires burn along the shoreline as residents and visitors gather to celebrate the beginning of summer.

Don't Miss These City Spots Sponsored by WisTravel

Explore Ephraim

Located at 9986 Water Street, Harborside Park will features a gazebo for summer concerts, playground equipment, benches and picnic area, public parking and a beautiful view of the Bay. The Village also maintains a 175′ span of public sand beach with parking, restrooms, foot wash, drink machine and telephone. The marina service building at 9969 Water Street provides showers, restroom facilities, a launch ramp and parking. There are seasonal slips, moorings, and transient slips available for rental.

A strong sense of history and place is evident at every turn with many of the village’s buildings listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Village Hall was built in 1926 and for many years was the site of the Ephraim Post Office, barber shop, movie theater, basketball court and youth group meeting place, and Library. A new Library addition was built in the 1960’s and the barber shop converted into a kitchen. The Post Office moved to its Cedar Street location in the late 70’s, and the Hall was renovated.

Ephraim’s bathing beach was originally established in 1934 and later expanded to its present size. In the last decade, Ephraim Wisconsin has acquired and developed more park and recreation land – the park next to the Village Hall, a park across from the Hall, and a water-side park across from Wilson’s Restaurant. A regenerating wetland, almost destroyed by a developer, was purchased by the Village and has been turned into a Wetland Preserve. Most recently, the property that held the original Door Way Motel built in 1962 (renamed the Harborside at a later date) was purchased. The parking will be retained for public use and a new park area will be established, located between two historic structures–Wilson’s and the Hillside Hotel.


Door County Visitor Bureau

1015 Green Bay Road, PO Box 406, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-0406
Phone: (920) 743-4456 Email: info@doorcounty.com Fax: (920) 743-7873

Visit Website
North Northeast Southeast South Central West Central