Forest County

The Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest is located in Wisconsin’s Northwoods, covering over a million and a half acres. The Chequamegon side of the forest covers about 858,400 acres in Ashland, Bayfield, Sawyer, Price, Taylor, and Vilas counties while the Nicolet side covers nearly 661,400 acres in Florence, Forest, Langlade, Oconto, Oneida, and Vilas counties. In the 1800’s men were hired in eastern Kentucky to go by train to Forest County in northern Wisconsin to work the logging camps. Hundreds went. The men found the land to be much like their home state, and many stayed, bringing their families here to live.

Forest County has over 360 miles of groomed, state funded snowmobile trails winding through the Nicolet National Forest, along with numerous cross country ski trails, snowshoeing and ice fishing. No matter what your outdoor recreation is, you will be sure to find it in here. In the heart of the Nicolet National Forest, share the rich natural resources of the where lakes and streams, woods, and wildlife combine to form an ever changing panorama of natural beauty. Enjoy sight seeing and shopping in quaint shops in the lightly populated communities.

Explore Forest County

Forest County

Visit Website
North Northeast Southeast South Central West Central