Wild Rivers Country

Florence County, created in 1881 from Marinette and Oconto Counties, is named after Florence Hulst, the first white woman to settle in the area. Located in northeast Wisconsin, the county seat is Florence. In recognition of its biological richness and rarity. the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources established the 8,850-acre Spread Eagle Barrens State National Area in 1995. The site provides recreational opportunities including viewing, fishing, hunting, trapping, and berry picking. In addition the Barrens project provides opportunities for research on ecosystem level management and community restoration techniques that are unavailable on many state natural area sites.

Don't Miss These City Spots Sponsored by WisTravel

Explore Florence

Currently, we have no events scheduled for Florence

North Northeast Southeast South Central West Central